Pictures print darker than they appear on LCD screen

larnie

Hi
I'm new to photography & the D3200. Have noticed that when reviewing pictures in playback mode they appear brighter on the lcd screen than on computer monitor or when printed. Also when taking the same picture as a few other people - different cameras but identical settings - the colours seem "off" a bit yellowish / greenish tinge.
Could this be a problem with the screen or do some settings have to be changed
Really grateful for any ideas
​Ian

Scott Murray

Calibrate your screen, the colour variation could be white balance issues. Try using Auto WB and see what that gives. Also what cameras are your friends using as some favour certain colours.

WayneF

The cameras (including D3200) have a Monitor Brightness setting (in the Setup menu). Most are too bright, and should be turned down a little. This is true of most desktop monitors too, a little too bright by default (unless calibrated). It should look better turned down a bit. You can adjust the LCDs to match (printer is something else, depends on printer and inks and esp paper).

Colors... which is White Balance, is a general issue. It is rarely ever exactly correct. When you know it is bright sunshine, you might set Daylight WB instead of Auto. Same with Incandescent, you might set Incandescent WB instead of Auto. But the ambient color of the light still varies a bit, and the trick we learn is how to better deal with White Balance. It is rarely exactly correct.
Here is one general approach White Balance Correction, with or without Raw

Last edited:

larnie

Thanks.
​I have been shooting mostly in M mode. Auto WB is set as default. The other cameras are either canon or Nikon D600

larnie

Hi. No I was referring to the camera screen.
​Computer monitor & prints of pictures taken have similar results - considerably darker than what shows on my camera screen in playback

WayneF