Nidding's lo tech macro learning thread

nidding

Hey guys.
I'm really interested in learning to shoot some great macro shots. I just really like the new perspective you get from looking at stuff up close :)
So far I have burrowed an old micro nikkor 55 mm f/2.8, and plan on buying the older version of the same lens, as I'm not able to put in the cash down for a new lens, and a local guy is selling on for cheap :)
Being a student I don't have a lot of money, and am not able to get the newest, fanciest stuff. So what I want to do, it to try and get some tips from you guys, about making the best out of a very little gear.

Enough with the jabbing...
I have tried a few times to get some shots, but am struggling a bit with sharpnes and light. These shots were done with a sb-24, bounced off a white wall.

I can't seem to get them sharper in the view finder, so what can I do to get them sharper?
DSC_0679.jpg

DSC_0680.jpg

DSC_0682.jpg

Also, general guidance will be more than welcommed :)

Last edited by a moderator:

480sparky

I can't seem to get them sharper in the view finder, so what can I do to get them sharper?

Sharper, as in IQ, or sharper as in more DOF?

IQ is a function of the lens. Other than determining the sharpest aperture to shoot at, the IQ won't get any better.

DOF (or rather, the lack of it) is a huge problem when shooting macros. Intuition tells you to stop the lens down to minimum, but then shutter speed might become an issue, as well as diffraction. Learning to focus stack might help.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
You will have to sharpen your digital file in post processing. Beware though as too much can be sometimes worse than not enough.
The actual light can also affect the sharpness. The more diffused light will not emphasize the details as much as a direct light. I'd suggest you use your flash with a diffuser closer to the object you are trying to picture.