Tough choices....

outlet15

So I have my D5200. I've got my nice little 18-55mm lens and my 35mm lens. I bought a nice backpack for it fit in. But I'm getting itchy. I am still learning and I am enjoying photography, but I want more. I want a new lens that can be used for anything from portraits to landscapes or anything in between, or a good speedlight.

Now when it comes to lenses, I was looking at a bunch. The Nikon 85mm 1.8, the 70-200mm 2.8 (I'd have to save for that), the tamron 10-24mm (I used it once), or a bunch of others. (clearly I'm not certain which area I want to be in.)
For speedlights I am torn between going cheap and getting a YongNuo 560 III, or the Nikon SB700.

What direction would most of you all go in and which way should I go if I want to expand my horizon?
Thanks.

Rick M

You really need to decide if you want to go wider or longer next. When I buy a flash ( I don't use them much) it will be an SB700.

WhiteLight

haha.. you've been infected quite badly with the NAS bug..

Do figure what you want to do, or decide what purpose you want the next lens to serve till you get the itch again :p
all lenses obviously won't work for all situations

Bill16

Rick and White light are very right! One lens just won't really do it all, and so I would recommend thinking about what you'd like to shoot most and find a lens that does that well. I also agree with going for the sb-700 flash if you decide to get a flash. I have had some very good advice myself, recommending that flash for me too! Lol :D

outlet15

Thanks. It is tough picking just one medium to shoot when you first start off (or so it is for me.) I have really enjoyed mediums in motion, or carry the potential for motion. I would really like to do some aerial photography soon.
I will calm my itch for now and exam my plans a little more closely before I just go jumping into something.
If you have any strong suggestions about must haves, please share.

WhiteLight