wlhyatt

DSC_1798_zps8d6b483f.jpg

Camera: Nikon 1 V1
Lens: Nikon 1 Nikkor 10-30mm
Focal Length: 27mm (35mm equiv.)
Aperture: f/3.5
Exposure:1/40
ISO: 1600

This picture was taken at my mother-in-law's house on thanksgiving day. I just happened to have the V1 with me and thought this picture needed to be captured. They were rolling and counting all of their change that they collected through the year for a friend who had fallen on hard times and needed help. In total there was somewhere around $200 in change between them.

Looking for critique on the whole thing, composition, exposure, all of it. This was one of the first times I used a camera in manual mode. (I am an extreme newbie to any kind of photography.)

DraganDL

OK, it's just a regular close-up, taken with wide angle lens. Closest and the far end of the scene are blurred, whereas the middle of it is in-focus (third row of coins, counting from the position of the camera). What you could have done is to cut out that upper right-hand portion with that violet tissue (it can be removed by cloning, too). Photo can pass as a documentary, and that would be all...

FastGlass

Sorry wlhyatt I don't see anything interesting here. I don't see any of the pennies in focus just parts of the table. Maybe close up the lense to show more DOF. Some cropping needs to happen in order to get rid of the hands in the background and the rolled coins. To many things happening, my eyes want to wander all over the place.

Horoscope Fish

How about something like this... I cropped the s--t out of it to get rid of some of the distracting "elements" at the top of the frame and too accentuate the subject, went vertical with the whole shot to strengthen the lines, brought up the exposure, increased the contrast and sharpened it:

Attachments

• 61619d1386274430-your-thoughts-dsc_1798_zps8d6b483f.jpg
    61619d1386274430-your-thoughts-dsc_1798_zps8d6b483f.jpg
    205 KB · Views: 118

Mike D90