Nikon 1J3... Not a bad camera at all. First impressions.

skene

So I recently got a hold of the latest rendition of the Nikon J series. This came as a kit from Costco which included bag, 10-30 and 30-110 lens, WU-1B wireless adapter and a 16g SD Card.

Camera is not so bad, however it takes some getting used to as I like viewing through a viewfinder as opposed to viewing through screen. Playing with the wireless control via android makes things pretty simple in terms of user control when doing selfies or family portraits. I like the layout of controls as it makes everything simple such as immediate data transfer, focus control and the like. I am still testing out what the limitations are as I am still new to the camera and do not get a lot of play time with it.

The lens system is not bad. I like the idea of being able to add a lens adapter to use my other Nikon lenses (This may be a purchase for a later date in time).

Not much a fan of the flash just yet, but at least for any additional lighting I can use one of my other shoe mount flash as a slave which helps light up a room.

So while the holidays are amongst us, I will be able to play with it a little more and will probably take it outdoors and see how it fairs up against my DSLR. I want to be able to take advantage of the fast shutter speed that the mirrorless cameras have to offer, and see what the video is like before anything.

We shall see.

Bill16

Thanks for the info! I've been curious about those types of cameras, but I'd hate not being able to use a viewfinder! Lol :D
But I'll try to keep an open mind if you'll continue to tell us about yours and how your liking it! :D

Last edited:

skene