Best Lens For D3200 Shooting Macro and Others

derrickhand300

Hello
I am completely new to the D3200 and beginner level at photography
I just purchased a D3200 because I need to take macro shots of jewelry for my website- but I would also like to take pictures at my sons sporting events
The 18-55 seems pretty worthless for both (it could just be me not getting he settings correct) The macro's just are not in focus enough ( part near lens in focus- part going away from the lens is slightly out of focus) During sporting events the pics are clear and sharp- but I need more zoom to get in on the action like I would like.
I am looking at the Nikon 105mm macro lens with VR (huge price) would this work for both Macro AND Zoom?
Or would a 200mmm or even 300mm offer the macros I need and the zoom? I really want to buy a nice lens but I would like it to be the RIGHT lens for me because its so expensive
I appreciate any tips and advice any of you can share- no matter how basic because I really am new to this
Thank you
Curtis

ShootRaw

Yes that lens is good for macro and portraits...They make a fantastic 40mm 2.8g micro($276) by Nikkor that will serve the macro part and serves as a long standard lens as well...

Nero

All I know is the 18-55mm is not meant for macro shots. The lens can't focus close enough to the subject to take macro shots.

I've heard good things about the 60mm macro lens though. Should much more affordable for you than the 105mm.

Steve B

The 105mm is not a zoom lens. It is an excellent macro lens however. Also remember that when working close to the subject you are going to have a very shallow depth of field.

ShootRaw

The 105mm 2.8 is alittle overrated...I had one for 30 days and returned it...For the O.P's needs he might wanna go the 60mm 2.8 route for a happy medium....

WayneF

Hello
I am completely new to the D3200 and beginner level at photography