Fix Live View

Status
Not open for further replies.

eye4get

I am new to the Nikon D5200, but Nikon really needs to fix the inability to change Aperture when Live View is active! I almost purchased the Canon700D for its touch screen and actual live view features. If Nikon wants to remain competitive in the entry level DSLR sector, they need to listen to consumers and develop updates to make changes. Developing a firmware update for a new battery is not as important as adding a useful feature to view actual changes to shutter speed, ISO and Aperture REAL TIME!

Comments are welcome. The more we voice our opinions the more likely Nikon will respond.

FastGlass

I'm not one for using the liveview feature on my cameras because of the shutter lag issue. In fact I can't think of any reason why I would want to use it over the view finder. eye4get why do you use it? Just curious.

Bob Blaylock

I am new to the Nikon D5200, but Nikon really needs to fix the inability to change Aperture when Live View is active! I almost purchased the Canon700D for its touch screen and actual live view features. If Nikon wants to remain competitive in the entry level DSLR sector, they need to listen to consumers and develop updates to make changes. Developing a firmware update for a new battery is not as important as adding a useful feature to view actual changes to shutter speed, ISO and Aperture REAL TIME!

Comments are welcome. The more we voice our opinions the more likely Nikon will respond.

Is the D5200 really not able to change aperture while in Live View mode? I'm skeptical. I just tried it with my D3200, which is the contemporary next-model-down from the D5200, and there does not appear to be any restriction on changing the aperture while in Live View mode. It seems that everything you're complaining about the D5200 not doing, my D3200 does just fine.

I find it difficult to believe that my D3200 can do this, but that the D5200 cannot.