Bought a Tamron 18-270mm lens. Counfused about which camera to buy :)

iamafreak

I have been planning to buy a DSLR for quite a long time. Decided that I will get a NIKON.
I ended up buying a Tamron 18-270mm lens yesterday. Picked it up for around EUR 245. Actual price is around EUR 340. Couldn't resist the near 100 bucks discount :playful:

I am confused between D5100 and D5200. This is my first DSLR and I have no real experience in photography. (my previous camera was a Panasonic LUMIX superzoom)

Appreciate any advice.

Cheers.

Horoscope Fish

I am confused between D5100 and D5200. This is my first DSLR and I have no real experience in photography.
Well the '5200 is basically one step-up over the older '5100. The '5200 is 24MP vs the 5100 which is 16MP. The 5200 has more focus points, more cross-type focus points, better color depth, more dynamic range, faster continuous shooting... Stuff like that.

nickt

While you are camera shopping, start studying the the basics of exposure if you are not already familiar with that stuff. Learn the relationship between shutter, aperture, and iso and things will go a lot smoother when you get the camera. If you thoroughly understand exposure principles, your camera manual will make a lot more sense when you read it.

Epoc

Certainly a different way to do things. Most people buy the camera then lenses. 5200 or 7000 would be my choice. Good luck with whatever you buy.

Bob Blaylock

I have been planning to buy a DSLR for quite a long time. Decided that I will get a NIKON.
I ended up buying a Tamron 18-270mm lens yesterday. Picked it up for around EUR 245. Actual price is around EUR 340. Couldn't resist the near 100 bucks discount :playful:

I am confused between D5100 and D5200. This is my first DSLR and I have no real experience in photography. (my previous camera was a Panasonic LUMIX superzoom)

Appreciate any advice.

Cheers.