image size

jkphotos

Hi, i have been shooting for about 6 months with my d7000. I just noticed that my image are now coming out in size to about 5.5 mgs. I have large jpg Fine selected but it used to say, when I looked at image size on my computer, it was 16.1 mg and now it doesn't. Any idea what might have caused this change? I am opening these photos with a generic microsoft product.

Last edited:

MartinCornwall

Hi, could it be possible that you were looking at the sensor size in MPixels. In nearly 3 years of shooting with the D7000 the highest size I have seen for a JPEG is 12MB, with the average of between 6-8 MB. It depends on what you are shooting, some of my night time shots come out less than the size you state at the same settings.

Last edited:

WayneF

Hi, i have been shooting for about 6 months with my d7000. I just noticed that my image are now coming out in size to about 5.5 mgs. I have large jpg Fine selected but it used to say, when I looked at image size on my computer, it was 16.1 mg and now it doesn't. Any idea what might have caused this change? I am opening these photos with a generic microsoft product.

Basics: Image size is dimensioned in pixels. File size is dimensioned in bytes. These are different properties. It was not clear which you were discussing?

D7000 Large JPG image size is 4928x3264 pixels, or 16 megapixels.

RGB images are 3 bytes per pixel (assuming normal 24 bit color). So 16 megapixels x 3 is 48 million bytes, every time. This is simply the size it is, anytime it is opened into computer memory. But you can choose Large, Medium, or Small size, which are different dimensions in pixels. Digital images are dimensioned in pixels.