There can be only one...

gathomas72

I know this is a broad question and a total noob one at that but I feel with the vast lens selection out there it is one that really needs to be asked. I got the word from the boss-woman that Santa would be bringing me the D800e for xmas, which for those of you who shoot on a budget know is a costly venture for the body alone. I've been shooting another brand (to remain nameless..teehee) for a while now and have made several lens purchases for it so I'll be starting over from scratch with the 800e, so my question is this. If you had the choice only purchasing one lens to pair up with the D800e what would it be? Now I know most of you will say that it depends on what you plan on shooting. As a hobbyist I shoot everything from portraits to motorsports to still-life, and landscapes. Now I know one lens will not cover the range of subjects listed overall, but I'd like to make a solid lens purchase that I can utilize well through a variety of settings until I can afford to purchase more lenses. Oh and my goal is to eventually crossover into a pro environment so I'm not afraid of spending some dough on quality glass.

Thank you in advance.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
The first lens I would get would be the 24-70 2.8, second, the 70-200 2.8. Third, 16-35 f4. At first I never thought I'd need these and got other lenses " in the meantime". But now I have all these lenses that stay in the bag and I use the 3 above mentioned.

Geoffc

One lens. For me the 24-120f4 covers a lot of bases and i chose it over the the 24-70 for reasons other than cost. In a lab it's not quite up to the 24-70 2.8, however I find the extra reach and VR for low light handheld shots more of a benefit. It spends more time on my D800 than anything else.

If you go down this route you could also pick up the 50mm 1.8g within the cost of a 24-70.

Ruidoso Bill