Focus problem

sl60

I'm an amateur with a D70S, 28-105 stock Nikon lens. I've been experimenting with taking photos of trees in the woods where there's a lot of shadow punctuated by bright spots of sunlight, and my success rate of decent photos is about 10%.

On my last try, I brought along a tripod, set the aperture for f/16 and let it go with the timer (I'm lookign for some decent depth of field). Most of the photos taken this way were blurry. I also tried setting the shutter speed to 1/400 and allowing the camera to choose the aperture. These were better (more in focus), but some of the highlights were blown out and some of the shadows (which were full of reflected light) came out too dark.

Any suggestions for improvement would be mostw elcomed (please, not too technical, though--I'm still a babe in the woods, so to speak).

nickt

Some picture samples may help get you better tips. In general, a long exposure of trees will be blurry, its hard to avoid leaf movement outdoors. What metering mode? Usually matrix is best, but you could try spot metering on the trees. That might improve shadows, but will definitely blow out highlights. You can try exposure compensation, add or removing some exposure and try to make the best of it in post processing. Do you shoot raw? That will give you more ability to bring down highlights or lighten shadows.

The situation you describe is difficult. A newer camera would probably capture more of the brights and darks, there is more dynamic range with newer sensors. Some guys would use something called HDR processing, high dynamic range, a merging of bracketed exposures. I haven't tried it yet, but I think the trees would still present problems due to movement between the shots.

sl60