Question about lenses

mike2847

So when my D3100 came with 2 lenses. 18-55mm and 55-200mm. Does it matter which one I use or is there a specific time when I should use one versus the other?

Probably a silly question for you experienced photographers, but I'm still learning how to use mine when/if I find time.

WayneF

Well, the choice depends only on the view you want to show.

18-55 mm is from wide angle to mild telephoto. This will be for most situations, certainly indoors.

55-200 is from mild to relatively extreme telephoto. It brings distant far things closer, to enlarge the view off them (if that is your choice). Like maybe for photographing a bear in the woods, etc.

Go out in the front yard, and look though both them, at like 18mm and at 200mm - looking at something say half a city block distance. It is the view that changes. The 200 mm lens will bring it 200/18 = 11 times closer and larger, than at 18 mm.

But at other times, you need the wide angle field that 18 mm can show. Or most often, some suitable point in between. You zoom to show the view that you want to show.

Last edited:

WhiteLight

The two lenses cover varying focal lengths..
18mm is the closest you can get and 200mm is the farthest..
Keep a subject in front of you, like a coke can or something, sit down a few feet away from it, fix your 18-55 fist, move the lens from one end which should ideally be at 18mm, move it to 55. Then remove the lens and attach your 55-200. Do the same..
Your field of view will change and also let you understand better which situation would be good for which lens..
Quality wise, both are great

Vincent

I would say you have a great range; 18-200mm is nice to work with. Some situations might ask for something else, but that you find out by using the lenses and see where you miss something.