Image Protection 101

Browncoat

PART I - COPYRIGHT

If you're the anxious type who doesn't like to read walls of text, here's the Cliff's Notes version:

Are your photos REALLY protected by copyright?: In a word, YES.

Let me preface this post by stating the obvious first: I am not a copyright lawyer. All the information contained here is from research and personal experience. This is not a substitute for real legal advice.

I'm constructing this thread because it's something that's never been addressed on these forums in any official capacity. There are tons of posts on these boards about watermarks, copyrights, and image protection from theft. Also threads about rights grabs by photo contests, stock agencies, Flickr, 500px, and crowd sourced photo submissions.

Hopefully this short Q&A will answer any questions you may have about your rights and protections. Furthermore, what rights and protections you may be forfeiting when you upload your photos online to the above mentioned services and/or contests.

Q: What is a copyright?

In terms of photography, it means owning property (your photo). With that ownership, certain rights are granted:
  • to display the photograph publicly
  • to create derivitive works - convert your photo into a collage or pencil drawing for example
  • to reproduce the photograph
  • to distribute the photograph via sale - either in whole or part (such as with limited use licensing)

Q: Who owns an image copyright?

For the most part, the person who pressed the shutter button owns the copyright. The exception to this rule is called "work for hire". For example, a photojournalist working for a newspaper. There is a specific contract that must be signed stating that the photographer agrees to hand over image copyright to the newspaper. This is part of an employer/employee contract. Performing normal photography services for clients is NOT considered work for hire - such as portraits, wedding photography, etc.