Used D3 vs. D3s?

mtphoto724

I'm a student journalist currently with a D300s and I'm looking to move to a FX camera. I actually bought a D3s but when he shipped it I found out that the door that covers the cf cards was broken so I sent it back for a refund. In the meantime I began to have some buyer's remorse and now I'm considering only upgrading to the D3, saving $1000 and buying some glass for it. I like the D3s' video capability but it's not an upgrade over the D300s I have. Is the ability to go to 126,000 ISO really that much of an upgrade over the D3?

What is everyone's opinion? Thanks for your help.

pedroj

Either are much better in a low light situation then the D300s...If you can live without the video feature I'm sure the D3 will do a great job..

gqtuazon

Gear Head
I'm a student journalist currently with a D300s and I'm looking to move to a FX camera. I actually bought a D3s but when he shipped it I found out that the door that covers the cf cards was broken so I sent it back for a refund. In the meantime I began to have some buyer's remorse and now I'm considering only upgrading to the D3, saving $1000 and buying some glass for it. I like the D3s' video capability but it's not an upgrade over the D300s I have. Is the ability to go to 126,000 ISO really that much of an upgrade over the D3?

What is everyone's opinion? Thanks for your help.

If I were in your shoes, the D3s would be it.

Sent from my iPhone.

LensWork

The high ISO performance of the D3s is better than that of the D3, but an often overlooked feature of the D3s that is lacking on the D3 is the built-in sensor cleaning. This one small feature can potentially save you many, many hours in post-processing as well as dollars to have the sensor professionally cleaned.

rocketman122