D800 Coloring Problem, HELP!

RDEMMER

My wife saved for over 2 years to get her new D800. Now that she has it she hates it! And it's past the return time that we could take it back so she has to make due with it. Her problem is this:

1 - The majority of her photography is of people doing portraits. She can not get right flesh tone of people!! All of her pictures come out with people's skin color looking very grey and unnatural.

2 - Also she's used to very bright colors that "pop" She's having a very difficult time getting the colors she wants to pop as well

She previously used a D80 for about 5 years and still prefers that over the D800.

Can anyone help me?! Is it white balance or some other settings? She's a self-taught photographer with no formal training so it's been very frustrating. Thanks!

Horoscope Fish

Off the top of my head it sounds like someone has gone from shooting JPG to shooting RAW without knowing/understanding the need for post processing when shooting RAW. I would confirm first that her files are indeed RAW. If they are, she'll need to learn how to post process those shots to get the color and sharpness she's used to because her D80 was doing it for her when she shot JPG. When you start shooting RAW you take control of those aspects but it requires a new skill set. It's a joy when you learn how to post process and I don't think anyone would want to give up shooting in RAW once they get a grip on how to post process a shot, but again there is some additional learning required.

There a lot of articles an tutorials that will explain the difference and how to post process RAW files. Here are a couple to get you, or your wife, started in the right direction:

RAW vs JPG: The Ultimate Visual Guide

The Basics of RAW Files and What to do With the Darn Things

RDEMMER

Thanks Horoscope Fish, that's very helpful info.

So in your opinion it's not a camera or settings problem but an issue with post processing?

BackdoorArts