Help Me Understand - 2 Photos Of My Little Sister

gohan2091

Hello,

The following two photos are shot with a D7100 and a Sigma 105mm 2.8 Macro lens. I used a single SB-700 in an umbrella positioned at approx 45 degrees up and in front of my sister. A bit of post-processing has improved the photos but it's clear to me that my camera settings/exposure were not as they should be and some damage has been done. Here are the two photos unedited:

Sister 1 Original.jpg Sister 2 Original.jpg

and here they are after some Lightroom editing:

Sister 1 Edited.jpg Sister 2 Edited.jpg

My sisters face looks over-exposed yet the histogram shows the overall image to be towards underexposure. Why is this? Did I position the flashed umbrella too close to my sister/use too much flash power? I'm not sure what happened here and because I'm still learning, I'd like to hear from the experts :) I would be glad to send the DNG file if you'd like to have a play around with the image for the purpose of this thread.

Thanks

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Maybe the umbrella was a little too close but it's still a great picture. Workable file even if you start with the jpeg that you uploaded.

Here's my take of one of them. Don't be afraid of B&W, it can make a picture better.

Sister 1 Original copy.jpg

gohan2091

Thanks Marcel. I am a fan of B&W but for this photo and for learning purposes, I wanted it in colour. I really want to know why this happened so I can avoid it in the future. I am new to off-camera flash and rarely use an umbrella but perhaps my first thought was right... the umbrella was too close. Your edit of my image is appreciated, however, I find it's a little flat.

WayneF

My sisters face looks over-exposed yet the histogram shows the overall image to be towards underexposure.

My notion is that it is too much exposure to be natural. There are dark tones in the histogram, but the brightest tones are on the face, which is too bright to be optimum.