Is My Camera Broken

raggamuffin

Hi,

Just bought a D70S from a friend. Every pic I take is a blank white photo on preview. Hooked up to PC and it's blank white with a pink hue to some objects. I think it's an exposure issue. Tried the following to fix it:

Different lens
All modes
All ISO settings
LCD brightness
Shutter exposure +/- button
Factory reset
Replacing battery

I'm totally new to SLR's so I need help. The camera won't detect itself on my PC. Also the menu keeps switching off when i'm scrolling through options etc. All in all this is a frustrating intro into SLR cameras.

Read an article form 2005 Nikon admitted this model does sometimes have exposure sensore issues. They said they'd replace them even outside of warranty. Not sure if that'd happen 8 years later?

Please can someone help?

Ed

Last edited:

raggamuffin

Yes even in green automatic mode, as well as every other mode I tried. I'm surprised he didn't test it before selling it to me. I work with him though so I can easily give it back to him and get my money back. He said he barely used it. I think it's been stored in it's bag for years.

It came with the manual and I tried the exposure settings. but now pressing the exposure button and the wheel to scroll through them no longer works. Also the PC no longer detetcs the camera and the menu won't stay on long enough to scroll through options.

It's infuriating.

Ed

Horoscope Fish

Based on your description of what's going on it's starting to sound to me like you've bought a basket-full of problems. Personally, I'd hand this camera back to my friend, get my money and buy elsewhere. That, or have it looked at by a professional for a proper diagnosis.

Good luck with whatever you decide.

raggamuffin

Yeah i'm starting to think this is the most sensible option. When I told him about every pic having serious exposure issues he said he had no idea and to try a factory reset.