Kenko Extension Tubes - First Product Photography Attempt

WhiteLight

Hi All,

This is my first attempt at Product Photography.
Looking forward to opinions & critique

EXIF:
D7000 & 35mm 1.8g
1/18 secs at f/14
Exposure Bias -1 EV
ISO 100
2 side lights & SB700 triggered off camera

20130915-DSC_9100_WLP-2.jpg

mikew_RIP

Its how we see things, thats why so many product photographers make a living,i like the blue it creates a group for me,pulling the items together.

mike

Browncoat

I said in another thread, and I'll repeat it again here: product photography is difficult. Kudos for even attempting to do this, because in my opinion, it's quite challenging. Photographing "stuff" in such a pleasing way that it prompts others to want to buy it...yeah, there's a lot more to this than meets the eye!

You already know about the blueish tint, so I won't even go into that. Gotta work with what you have. Nice job with dust control. I still see a few specks, so just remember that product photography has to be spotless.

Lastly is product placement, which is where I think you missed the mark. I have in my head how I would've done this shoot, and after doing an image search, I found this:

5983919763_bf56497a9e.jpg

Your arrangement is certainly okay, but I think it could've been better. The items are spaced a bit too far apart. Something like this looks more visually appealing, while still maintaining the random look:

kenko_dg_af_ext_tube_nikon__88124_zoom.jpg

WhiteLight

Thanks Browncoat - i hear you.
I thought of a few positions to get the shot, obviously the ones you've posted look great.

At the same time, i am not very happy about the sharpness of the shot as well..
Something is off, not sure what..

Plus, am not sure if there should be shadows or not
There is a little bit of a shadow here..

Hope to get it better

Browncoat