New to the world of photography

TNCerealKilla

Hello to all the nikonites out there. I am new to this world and learning this all on the fly. I got into researching about cameras for my wives birthday, then while looking into what to buy and what not to buy I got inerested in what all you can do and how to get good quality pics of the family and so on. So the wives birthday came and I got the d3100 kit and a 32 gig card for her.... but since I was now wanting to play with it I had to get her something sparkly for her and the camera as a gift for the family.

But all I can say is wow there is a lot about these thing I didn't know about. I always thought it was point and shoot and how ever deep your pockets were is how good of a picture you would get. And I figured the top photographers in the industry probably just knew the right people and invested in the right toys to get where they are. And boy I was wrong. This is truly a talent, and learned trade.

But here are some photos I have been mainly playing with on jpeg and editing with a trail of corel photoshop XI, which seems to be really user friendly.

Attachments

• DSC_0152.jpg
    DSC_0152.jpg
    126.6 KB · Views: 89
  • what prize.jpg
    what prize.jpg
    201.6 KB · Views: 89
  • DSC_0006.jpg
    DSC_0006.jpg
    70.8 KB · Views: 100
  • DSC_0007.jpg
    DSC_0007.jpg
    171.6 KB · Views: 96

Horoscope Fish

But all I can say is wow there is a lot about these thing I didn't know about. I always thought it was point and shoot and how ever deep your pockets were is how good of a picture you would get. ... And boy I was wrong. This is truly a talent, and learned trade.
Well, you're off to a good start.

Oh and what is the best advice that one can give to a newb.
Composition, composition, composition.

Read: How to Create Stunning Digital Photography.

Browncoat

Stay away from kenrockwell dot com and you'll be just fine.