Sigma 70-300 or Nikon DX 55-200

shortcircuit

I have the Sigma lens and whilst a total beginner am getting mixed results which I put down to not holding the camera steady enough and I assume a tripod would help. The Nikon has VR and I would ask the experts if I would benefit from this or just persevere with the Sigma?

Edit I would assume the auto focus would be of good assistance?

Last edited:

eidian

My D3200 came with the 55-200 and I have to say that it’s a pretty good lens and yes, the VR does help…but don’t expect perfection (pictures can/will still come out blurry).* I took some pretty decent pics of a show (darker lighting) and a parade (outdoor, indirect sunlight) at Disneyland where I tried out different settings with that lens.* I wish that I could tell you definitively that the VR makes a big difference but I can’t because I only shoot with the VR on (no non-VR pics to compare against).* However, I can’t see how the VR wouldn’t help.

I also have the 55-300 and I have to tell you that even with the VR I do get very mixed results (even with a tripod).* The 300 is pretty good in direct sunlight on a clear day without a tripod (I set the camera on my bent knee for support while sitting on a chaise lounge)—but not magazine quality for sure.* In an opposite situation, I had a difficult time taking pics of my 5 y/o daughter in a gym during her basketball class even with VR and a tripod because there just wasn’t enough light and the lens doesn’t seem to be fast enough (but I’m only a beginner so it could be that I suck). But in either case, I’m pretty sure that it must be difficult shooting with a 300 mm zoom in those conditions without a tripod or VR. *What situations are you shooting in?