Head count

Browncoat

Just curious...how many working pros or semi-pros do we have on these boards? Let me clarify my definition of "pros" or "semi-pros". Must meet at least one of the following:

1) At least 25% of your annual income derived from photography
2) Have a business name (sole proprietorship, LLC, etc)
3) Have a business bank account
4) A brick-and-mortar studio, or at least a modest setup in your house

AC016

I'm a professional amateur, so i'm out. I will make a guess though. I would say that there is no more than 8 people who frequent this site that fit all the criteria points.

Last edited:

Carolina Photo Guy

Just curious...how many working pros or semi-pros do we have on these boards? Let me clarify my definition of "pros" or "semi-pros". Must meet at least one of the following:

2) Have a business name (sole proprietorship, LLC, etc)
3) Have a business bank account
4) A brick-and-mortar studio, or at least a modest setup in your house

You may want to clarify your definition of "STUDIO".

I have a studio.

Just-Clayton

1) Just started getting my feet wet. Small income for now

2) yes

3) yes

4) no indoor studio yet. Doing most shoots on site

Right now I'm at a happy medium with what I'm doing selling my matted prints of the area and a few weddings here and there. I can't give up my day job yet.

Rick M

I qualify under #2 and #3. My studio is all portable. As far as #1, will never happen, by choice. I'm in this for:

-Fun
-Tax write off
-Making a few bucks doing something I love

​I actually love my day job and it pays much more than I could ever make as a photographer.

fotojack

No.'s 1, 2, and 4. Even though I make a little money at this, I do it mostly for the fun and enjoyment. At my age, I don't plan on killing myself for anything or anyone! :)

gqtuazon

Gear Head

I meet everything except for this. I don't think my photography income will come close to 25% of my annual income. Is 25% the actual definition of a semi-pro photographer?