Check Your Lens Switches!

gohan2091

Hi all,

I've been learning photography for almost 2 years now. I've shot 4 weddings as well as a few christenings, among other things with good results. I actually own a Nikon D7100 but that's in for repair (Liveview and Playback are unavailable) so for the last 2 weddings, I've had to use my D5100. With the most recent wedding. I decided to photo the ceremony, guests indoors and do half the outdoor photos with my 16-85. When I decided to change lens to my Sigma 105mm Macro (beautiful lens by the way) I noticed my 16-85mm active switch was set to ON!! I didn't think too much of it but now I'm editing the photos, a lot of them are slightly soft. Nothing serious though. Would the client notice? Probably not, but I certainly do. The sharpness of the wedding photos with the 105mm to the 16-85 is pretty noticeable at 100% to me. I know the 16-85 lens is a pretty sharp lens so I would assume the active switch is to blame?

A word of advice to all of you. Check your lens switches!

EDIT: I've included a photo to show you what I mean (Click to make big). The couple have given me permission to use some of their photos in my portfolio. The photo here is hosted from my Behance portfolio. I shall delete the photo in a couple of days time.

hd_7154da202fdc4eaf0e7dcbd9f39e0480.jpg

Last edited:

gqtuazon

Gear Head
Active VR switch is normally used on certain conditions such as riding a vehicle on a bumpy road. There could be some effect and a margin of error as the VR tries to compensate something that it is expected but is not actually happening.

If they start viewing the digital files on a high resolution camera, it is likely to see the softness.

gohan2091