Which 85mm lens for me?

Joshjpe12

Nikon 85mm f/1.8G or Sigma 85mm f/1.4

I read that the Nikon has some troubles on focus and flares. And I need a 1.4 for my events photography and also portraiture. The Nikon 85mm f/1.4G version is quite expensive for my budget, and then I read also that the Nikon 85mm f/1.4D is a bit of an old lens for me, slow focus also on motorized Nikon bodies.

So which would you go with?

I have a nikon D80, and Nikon D7000, and soon a Nikon D800E. Again, I am an events photographer which covers weddings, debuts, parties, burials, christenings, etc.

ohkphoto

Snow White
Nikon 85mm f/1.8G or Sigma 85mm f/1.4

I read that the Nikon has some troubles on focus and flares. And I need a 1.4 for my events photography and also portraiture. The Nikon 85mm f/1.4G version is quite expensive for my budget, and then I read also that the Nikon 85mm f/1.4D is a bit of an old lens for me, slow focus also on motorized Nikon bodies.

So which would you go with?

I have a nikon D80, and Nikon D7000, and soon a Nikon D800E. Again, I am an events photographer which covers weddings, debuts, parties, burials, christenings, etc.

I have the Nikon 85 D 1.8 and use it on the D200 and D2x and it focuses as quickly as my newer lenses. i would think that if a newer model is within your budget, that would be the way to go. Mine was a "leftover" from my F5 film days and I tend to be a fan of old Nikon lenses. Still excellent quality and I certainly have no complaints.

gqtuazon

Gear Head
That's a tough one. The Nikon 85mm f1.8G is slightly sharper and cheaper but I prefer the OOF or bokeh that the Sigma provides. I hope that helps.

Cowleystjames

I have the Nikon 85mm 1.4g and is worth every penny. The bokeh is amazing and is as crisp wide open as at f11. Incredible! And being a Nikon, I'll never lose money on it unlike a third party lens.

Joshjpe12