Are my macro photos in focus? Photos attached. Newbie needing advice!

adamandbean

Hello. I have a D7000 and older AF 105mm 2.8D (not VR).
I am new to macro and it seems I have trouble focusing. I use automatic Spot focus- one point. I do not use a tripod.

Are these photos in focus?

Please loook at my photos and tell me what to do!
Thank you,

Adam

Attachments

• DSC_3640.jpg
    DSC_3640.jpg
    50.5 KB · Views: 150
  • DSC_3842.jpg
    DSC_3842.jpg
    44.3 KB · Views: 145
  • DSC_4233.jpg
    DSC_4233.jpg
    41.3 KB · Views: 139

Moab Man

First one kind of - parts of it. Others are not.

Post the exif data.

My suspicion without that data is that you may be focusing but due to the fact you're hand holding your slightest movement (breathing, natural sway) could be taking you out of focus.

Last edited:

Dave_W

The Dude
Yes, your focus looks fine. What I think you're having a problem with is the depth of field. Unfortunately, at a macro level your DoF is a very narrow slice relative to your subject matter. Keep in mind that DoF is product of both aperture and distance to your subject. So the closer you are the narrower will be your DoF. Stopping down the lens will help as well as increasing your distance from the subject and then crop down to your desired closeness. This DoF issue is why many of us have moved to focus stacking for close macro subjects. That said, stacking doesn't really go well with insect images.

WhiteLight

F/5.6 is too large & the DOF is going to be extremely thin.
That could be the reason. Try f/11 and above

Another thought-
macro lenses have a certain minimum focus distance.
if you go closer than that, you will not be able to obtain focus

Moab Man