Night sky pictures - how to focus?

AlexandL

Hi All,

I'm very new to DSLR and have the D3200 kit with the AF-S DX VR 18-55mm f:3.5-5.6G lens. I've been having a problem trying to take pictures of the night sky and the stars. I can't figure out how to set the focus properly. In Manual mode if I use the auto focus it just whirs back and forth, stops, insists I use the flash, and I can't take a picture. "Subject is too dark, cannot adjust exposure, use the flash". It seems rather silly when I'm using a long exposure up to 8 seconds. In Live View I can take a picture but I get the red box and the picture is blurry and out of focus. If I go to manual focus, it's too difficult to set looking through the view finder or in live mode. There's not enough of anything for me too see to set the focus. Tiny points of light, even setting on a larger brighter star (or planet) doesn't help.

With the camera on a tripod and using a remote, my basic settings are:

Manual Mode
Lens - 18mm (with clear filter attached)
f:3.5
Shutter speed: varying from 4 seconds to 8 seconds
VR - Off
Auto Servo AF
Dynamic area AF
Matrix Metering
ISO - 100 - 400
WB - Auto

I tried using various combinations with the Focus Modes, AF Area Modes, Metering, and ISO. If I go above ISO 400 I get too much noise, even with the NR on. I tried setting the shutter speed to bulb and timing the shot myself, which didn't work out any better. I feel like I'm missing something but don't know what it is.

BackdoorArts

Take a walk through the Low Light & Night photography forum under Learning Photography. This has been asked and answered many times.

Mike150

Hi Alex and Welcome.
Try this trick. While it's still daylight, focus on a distant object (to get the infinity point). Mark the lens with two pieces of blue painter's tape. One on the barrel and one on the focus ring. Make an alignment mark on both pieces of tape with a fine point sharpie.