Automotive Photography

outlet15

I am looking to an Automotive shoot with some friends cars. I've read much about rigs, and shot styles and blah blah. For lenses I have been looking at a Tokina 11-16, a Nikon 35, or 50mm prime, and a 24-70mm f2.8 (Just to try out because they are crazy expensive for an amateur photographer with no current intention to make money on the shots.). I was also going to attempt a shot with 70-300 (probably set around 150-200) while the car is moving and going around a corner.

What recommendations does anyone have? Any thing is better than nothing. What lighting recommendation does anyone have for inside a parking garage, and outside on the road?

Just to reiterate, I'm an amateur with a D5200.

Do you have the 18-55 that came with the camera? For still shots in the parking garage that will probably work just fine. How close are you to where the car is going around the corner? If you are at 200mm you are pretty far away and it the car is moving then you are going to have problems tracking it and stopping action.

outlet15

Yes I have the 18-55mm kit lens. I enjoy working with it, but I want something more. You are correct about the 200mm not working, I wasn't thinking when I wrote that one. I chose the others thought because I would like experiment with a various group of wide angle, close in, depth of feel, as well as motion. I have plans to set up a rig and have the cars only roll a short distance so to get that fast motion feel.
I like to experiment, but I also would like some advice before I get myself in over my head. I have a local photography shop that rents equipment, so the lens will be rented until I find one I enjoy working with.
Thanks for the input.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod