My Photos are always dark?

MMartucci

Hi

im fairly new to photography and i want to get into macro photography. I was researching online and i was told to use an aperture of around f11, however, when i do this and try to take a photo the pictures are always really dark

Can anyone help me to solve this problem, i use a nikon d3200 with the standard 18-55 lens, i also have a 55-200 lens

Thanks

WayneF

Hi

im fairly new to photography and i want to get into macro photography. I was researching online and i was told to use an aperture of around f11, however, when i do this and try to take a photo the pictures are always really dark

Can anyone help me to solve this problem, i use a nikon d3200 with the standard 18-55 lens, i also have a 55-200 lens

Thanks

Well, "really dark" is not a very detailed description. The questions is, are you using a correct metered exposure? Or are you simply setting f/11, without regard to metering?

Or rather, are you using like camera A mode, so that when you set f/11, it can slow the shutter to still be the correct exposure? Metering should work the same for macro as for other use. However, stopping down to f/11 may need more light.

We don't know much about your situation. Ideally, posting a problem photo with the Exif data still in it would be ideal, but sometimes that is a problem to do.

So, it would help knowing your camera mode (P, A, S, M?) and knowing your ISO and shutter speed and f/stop, and what kind of lighting? bright sun? Indoors, flash or not? etc.

Please tell us some things. Ideally, to be able to be much help, we would like to hear a description of your procedure, and details of why you think it ought to be the right exposure. :)