Help please from an absolute beginner in desperate need!!!!

Ljlane

Hello! I'm new to the group and photography. I was lucky in acquiring my camera and now having to learn to use it. I have recently completed a city and guilds level 1, so I can take a picture and understand the absolute basics, other than that I am confused by it all!!

So here is my query! I have bought an external flash for my d90 and it won't work! It's a speedlite YN560-III. The seller said its compatible with the d90, but I can only get it to fire in pilot mode!

Any advice is welcomed although please speak in simple terms...sorry!!!

donaldjledet

Hello! Welcome to Nikonites.com
I'm sorry I can't help a newbie myself Learning all the ends and outs of Photography and post processing.Thats also why at this site. Its the best one on the web.Somebody will be alone real soon who can help you.
​Enjoy the D-90.

Kodiak

Welcome Ljlane,

The seller said… NOT ENOUGH! I suggest that you go back and ask him to PROVE it!
Don't forget to take your camera along!

Blade Canyon

For a beginner, that is a fairly complicated manual flash. From what I can see on Amazon, it has different modes, so I can only wonder if a beginner can get it set up properly to sync with the camera. Are you sure that the Flash mode in the camera is set to ON? Check the camera's menu.

WhiteLight

Not sure about this flash, but i found someone with the same situation as you are..
hope this makes sense!