Hair color looks different

mamaduchess

Hello everyone!

This is my first post, so I am kind of nervous about wording something wrong. I recently purchased a Nikon D3200. I am reading the manual, purchased a book, watched videos, etc. So, I am still learning and trying to grasp terminology, etc.

I noticed in a couple of photos that I took indoors and maybe outdoors, my daughter and mother's brown hair looked a lot lighter, kind of gold. My husband and I noticed the camera seemed to capture a lot of the yellows, orange and reds in the picture, if that makes sense. The camera settings varied as I was experimenting getting to know the camera. There were definitely some photos where I did not use flash, and the hair color still looked different.

Is the hair color change due to possible over exposure? Or are there color settings I should fix? I am trying to find a copy of the picture to upload, but I am wondering if they were deleted since I can't find them.

Thanks for your input.

**Update** I added photos on 2nd page! :)

Last edited:

donaldjledet

Sorry I can't help you cause I'm new to.
Just wan't to
Welcome you to Nikonites.com.
Someone will be along shortly who will
​have answers to your questions

Also at this forum its like family
nothing to be nervous about.
Like the saying goes.
There are no dumb questions.

mamaduchess

Thanks everyone for the welcome! I feel kind of silly posting the question now because I don't have an example to show or what settings I used. I've taken some good shots since then.

WhiteLight

The only stupid question is a question you don't ask..
so don't worry someone will help for sure..

two aspects to your issue-

if you shooting with your subject in front of the sun (or other light source), the hair tends to get overexposed and that could be the cause of your golden colors.

secondly, it's always good to play around & mess up your settings cos that's the only way you'll learn :p