Nikon Nikkor AF-S 35 mm F/1.8 G question

DCP

Is it worth getting a Nikon Nikkor AF-S 35 mm F/1.8 G when I already have a 50 mm? The reason I am thinking I should get one is with the 50mm sometimes indoors I can't get far enough away from the shots I want to take (without running into a wall or appliance etc..). Would the 35mm make much of a difference. I am fairly new to DSLRs and photography. What other uses would I get out of the 35mm?[h=4][/h]

Mike150

According to your profile, you've got the 18-55mm. Try setting that to 50mm, take a few test shots, then set it for 35mm and take a few more. Then you can compare the two examples.

DCP

Thanks Mike didn't think of that :eek: I am really enjoying the 50mm prime lense, pretty much all I have used since I got the camera (mostly outdoors photography).

WhiteLight

I prefer the 35mm over the 50mm especially on DX cameras.
Gives you a lot more room!
Not very expensive & both are great lenses, so you can have the twosome

RockyNH_RIP

Is it worth getting a Nikon Nikkor AF-S 35 mm F/1.8 G when I already have a 50 mm? The reason I am thinking I should get one is with the 50mm sometimes indoors I can't get far enough away from the shots I want to take (without running into a wall or appliance etc..). Would the 35mm make much of a difference. I am fairly new to DSLRs and photography. What other uses would I get out of the 35mm?

I actually have both... I found the 50 required me to often back up further than the walls allowed!!! :)

I use the 35 a little more actually but do like them both.

Pat in NH

Rick M

It is a good lens. Personally, I would not own the 18-55, 35 and 50 simultaneously. I would put that money towards another range you do not have covered already.

Vincent

I see you have a D5200.

This means your 50mm is a 70mm equivalent.
The 35mm would make a 50mm equivalent (the normal standard).
I would certainly look into the 24mm which would make the 35mm equivalent.

Personally I went at this moment to 16mm.