Restricted shutter speeds when using flash?

zbrandt

I'm still fairly new to DSLR, but so far I've gotten excellent results with my D3200. I just have the 18-55mm lens that came with the camera and recently picked up a AF-S DX VR 55-200mm G ED lens. Two types of photography I've always loved - macro and high speed / stop motion. However, I don't understand why my shutter speed is restricted to a max of 1/200 when using the built in flash, and apparently using an external flash unit will make no difference. Under what circumstances would I ever be able to use anything above 1/1000 without using a flash? (I prefer to mostly use a low ISO of 400 and below). Would a low-light lens make a difference or is the 1/4000 setting a useless feature?

eidian

When I read the manual, it said that 1/200 is the max speed available when using a flash. My understanding is that this is a result of the camera being "entry level". I think that this makes sense because most (I stress MOST) people who buy this camera aren't necessarily looking to do the specific type of photography that you're after.

I wouldn't call the 1/4000 setting useless because there are times when your light conditions change and you might not have time change your ISO quickly so using the Command Dial to adjust the shutter speed is fastest (if you leave all of the functions at default).

Out of curiosity, what are you taking pictures of with the flash at high speed?

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Last edited:

singlerosa_RIP

You might be able to use 1/4000 if you're shooting in super-bright sunlight at ISO 6400 at f/2.8 (or something similar). What mode are you shooting in? (Auto, Manual, Aperture, Shutter). If you're shooting Auto, the flash will pop up if needed. In Manual, you control whether or not you use flash, but it's limited to the flash sync speed of your camera.