- Macro Lenses -

dapper.image

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie who is still learning about photography.

I have a D5200 with the kit lens. (18-55)

I think it's time for me to upgrade my lens, so i'm trying to decide on a macro. I understand that for bugs and such the more mm the better.

So, after reading many articles online about which lens to get, I think i've decided on a 105mm. Now, I don't have a lot of money, so i'm trying to find a used one for sale.

That's where I came to this. What's the difference between these two lenses? Besides the obvious fact that one is used.

Used Nikon 105 f/2.8 AF-D Micro auto Focus Lens

Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro Nikkor Lens - Nikon U.S.A. Warranty 2160

Here is one of my photos that I took recently, got the camera about 2 weeks ago and it's my first dslr. You can follow the image to the rest of my photos on flickr also if you wish.

growing up by dapper.image, on Flickr

Horoscope Fish

Well for one thing in Nikon-ese, "ED" stands for Extra-low Dispersion glass. ED helps prevent chromatic aberration and other optical distortions. One of those lenses has Vibration Reduction and a "G" lens has a manual aperture ring.

GAH... here's the link I was looking for. It explains what all those letters mean.

Last edited:

Kodiak

Hey, welcome! …glad to have you around!

Nikon 105mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S VR Micro Nikkor Lens, go for it, it's a great tool!

Your sunflower is beautiful in this overcast light…

I think I like your eye and that you're going to have a great time with us!

CU around!

Bill16

The link you supplied show the differences if you look at the new model. The new lens has some perks. Some that make getting a good shot a bit easier at times( like taking a shot without a tripod) VR for an example.I believe both lenses are good, but the new one is a bit better. :)
Welcome to nikonites! :D

jwstl