I need help with a decision about my nikon D3200 lens, please help!

Sandra Mihai

Ok, so I have a Nikon D3200 (18-55mm), and I decided to buy new lens , however I don't know that much about cameras, as i'm a beginner , i was wondering if the 70-300mm lens would fit my camera, please help, i need to decide asap !!!Thank you!

Horoscope Fish

Ok, so I have a Nikon D3200 (18-55mm), and I decided to buy new lens , however I don't know that much about cameras, as i'm a beginner , i was wondering if the 70-300mm lens would fit my camera, please help, i need to decide asap !!!Thank you!
Yes, the Nikon 70-300mm will fit your D3200. Your camera uses Nikon's "F" style bayonet mount, for future reference.

​Oh, and the 70-300mm is an excellent lens as well.

Skytalker

I would suggest 35mm F/1.8. With this one you could take photos indoor (35mm) in low light condition (f/1.8).
Later on, depending on what you shoot, you will decide.

WayneF

D3200 manual page 132 (English version) with heading Compatible Lenses
shows that the D3200 always needs an AF-S lens (for AF to work).

The Nikon 70-300mm is AF-S
Nikon AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED 2161 B&H

It says SWM down lower (Silent Wave Motor), which is AF-S, same thing.

Kodiak

Hello Sandra,

This equation is a tricky one. In any case, my recommendation is based on limited
budget and desired unlimited experience.

If, as declared in your preamble, you own the 18-55mm, then the next step would
consider enlarging your experience in either direction: wider lenses or telephoto lenses.

This is how complicated your options are: going wider or further! Seen this way, you
don't need help really… Look around, this forum has plenty of pictures and you will find
what attracts you the most: going wider or further!

Sandra, whichever, come back with some cool takes you will have done exploring this
new experience…

Have a good time!

nickt