Tripods and heads

donaldjledet

I've never used a tripod before so I was thinking, for the D7100 with tele lens.
Cause of the weight of the tele or a prime long lens.
How will i know if the tripod is steady enough to hold the weight?
​Thanks

Fred Kingston

By their very nature (Tripod) they're stabile... where you'll see issues is in the weight specifications for the heads... Your camera and lens will have a combined weight... Heads almost always are designed to work within a specific weight range... Make sure the head you select accommodates that weight range...

Tripods also, to a lesser degree, specify their designed weight range... But a bigger issue is the height/extension that a tripod can expand to... I'm 6'3"... and went through a few el cheapo tripods because I ended up squatting down to see through the viewfinders... Be sure the tripod you select opens/extends high enough that you don't have to bend over to see through the viewfinder...

Mfrankfort

If you look at online stores such as Adorama or B&H, the tripods have max weight on them. Any of the higher end ones will pretty much hold anything. I know Manfroto ones are really good, but REALLY expensive. Just search around and you should find some weight limits. I have a 30$ one I got on amazon, and it works with my D600 and 70-300. lol

Bill16

I bought a slik 504QF tripod 60" with a rating for 11lbs, and so far it works good. :) I got it used for $45.00 so I guess it would be considered a cheapo. Lol :)

Photo was not made by me, but was used in the listing I bought my tripod from.
676167858_o.jpg

Last edited:

riverside

So adorama or b&h will have the extension numbers listed.
I'm just 6' so the tripod i look at should go to at least 6'
Thanks

Be cautious on tripod maximum height claims. Many are measured with the center column fully extended and that single ~1" tube a foot higher than the tripod itself greatly reduces camera stability.

crashton