Just one D600 owner.....

JMHPhotography

I am going full frame and I am looking at the D600 but can I get one owner to tell me that havent had problems with oil spots I cant buy this shoot a wedding only to have to try and edit 100's of oils spots I am going refurbished so I hear that will take care of the issue..thoughts opinions? anyone? anyone?

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
I don't think you're going to be shooting weddings at f16 or 22. I would not worry about the dust/oil spots. But I'd sure invest some time to learn how to clean the sensor.

I've had dust, but no oil on mine.

Mfrankfort

What ^ said. Unless your shooting outside at noon on the equator, I don't think you'll be using apertures over 16. I have a D600, and love it. I've had to blow off the sensor a few times, and edit out a few dust spots here and there, but wouldn't trade the image quality for any other camera. Well.. maybe a D800, or D4. haha. But I'm a poor college student, so that's not happening.

Rick M

I've had only dust on my D600 sensor (low pass filter). I've blown it off a few times and cleaned the sensor at 4,000 shots. If I were to shoot a wedding, I would probably clean the sensor before it, regardless of what body I was using.

Blade Canyon

Why not buy the refurb they are advertising here? I bought a used D600 with almost 6k actuations already on it. No oil issues, only dust that blows off. (I change lenses a lot.)

I do find it strange that the dust spots appear to collect in the top left corner of pictures, which would be the bottom right side of the sensor. That would support an argument that there is something in the camera mechanism that is throwing gunk onto the sensor (... the low-pass filter that sits in front of the actual sensor.) Then again, we always put the sky on top in our pics, and it's the sky that reveals the spots, so maybe we are not seeing others.

Hassiman

I had dust and oil. Lots of it. Returned the camera. Thinking of D800 or Canon 6D.