Morality Question

LyonsH

Hey all. Just doing some thinking.

I am very new at photography (as in just started with a dslr in December) and I've taken several photos of friends, pets, walk around, etc.

I did a shoot for a friend of mine a couple months ago with 10 members of her family. But they came out okay in my opinion, but great in theirs (if you look at www.goodboyphotography.smugmug.com and click on the "Shipley" album, you'll see the shots from that day). This particular shoot they insisted on paying me $100. Which I hesitantly accepted (only because I was VERY short on cash that month).

Here's the dillemma: one of the girls from the shoot would like me to shoot her and her husband along with his younger brother and sister and dogs.

Should I charge and how much? I've never had any professional training, my camera and lens are basic and I've never been to any workshops. I went to the University of YouTube lol!

Thanks a lot!

ohkphoto

Snow White
Think about what your time is worth to you and come up with an hourly rate. One way to get a bearing on pricing is to base it on how many photos you plan to deliver, e.g. If you plan to provide them with 50 photos after an hour of shooting, the a cost of $2 or $3 per photo sounds fair.(you don't share this with clients . . . it's only to get a starting point, otherwise you'll have people asking you "oh, just take 5 photos and I'll pay you $10) So by paying you $100 or $150 for a 1 hour shoot (remember, there is also time spent on post processing), they'll be getting 50 photos. Prints and downloads are extra.

Hope this helps a little.

I think Helene is right on point. Remember it is not only your time you have invested there is equipment. In your profile it does not say which camera you are shooting but a D3100 kit costs $500 just to get the basics.
They have seen your work already and must be happy with your work or they would not have asked you to do work for them.