Noob to the site and photography

zhead86

Hey all,
I joined this sight to try to learn a little more about photography. It's something I've always wanted to do, but parents never had the money. I put off buying a camera for long enough (I'm 27 now) and bought a Nikon D5200 a few months back. I like taking pictures of nature; stars, landscapes, macro and pretty much anything else nature has to offer... I am having one major issue. While in Aperture priority mode, some times I can't get my aperture to open all the way. My lens opens to f/3.5 but at times it will only open to f/4 or even f/5.6 and nothing I can figure out gets it to open more. I'm using the standard lens that came in the bundle (Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G). I know it opens to f/3.5 because I've used it for star trails on more than one occasion...I've reset Custom Settings and Shooting Menu but nothing is working.... Help?!

zhead86

Ok, so I did say I am a NooB... And I also just figured this out. At 18mm I have f/3.5 varying to f/5.6 at 55mm..... Never thought I could embarrass myself on the internet but... go figure
upset.png

zhead86

Thanks guys! Do any of you know if the 18-55mm lens Nikon sends out with the D5200 is made for a full frame or cropped frame camera?

zhead86

If it's made for cropped frame cameras why would it get that effect on the focal length? Doesn't make sense.... I mean, I understand why the cropped frame does it to "normal" lenses but if it's made for cropped frame you'd think they would adjust it

zhead86

OK.. Maybe I stated that wrong... If a 35mm acts as a 52.5 mm you'd think they would label it as such. But I guess that would make it harder on Full frame users

Mycenius

OK.. Maybe I stated that wrong... If a 35mm acts as a 52.5 mm you'd think they would label it as such. But I guess that would make it harder on Full frame users

Yep you answered your own question! :D