Anyone using NX2 for post processing ?

GabiBass

I am new to Nikon and this site. I started taking pictures with my D90 this summer. I have only invested in NX2 and other NIK software for post processing. I started with this because it gave the free trials. I tried to download the free trials of PS/Adobe, but was unsuccessful. I took that as a sign. I hear everyone uses Photoshop, but I'd rather spend $700 on another lens.

I do mostly portraits, seniors, couples. I would eventually like to do weddings (I think)

Is anyone else just using View/NX2/NIK software ?

Ruidoso Bill

I haven't used any of those for a long time. I am hooked on Lightroom and I use Corel. I think my lightroom was under $100, I'd rather buy lenses also.

ohkphoto

Snow White
I do mostly portraits, seniors, couples. I would eventually like to do weddings (I think)

If you're doing serious portrait work, I would recommend some serious post-processing software. Get something that gives you the results you want, learn it well, and stick with it.

I use Lightroom first (also great for workflow and cataloguing). . . all my cropping, adjustments, etc. In depth stuff, I go to photoshop (works seamlessly with lightroom) and enhanced "tweaking" with NIK photoshop plug-ins. Because I often process 300-500 photos at a time, I need to be able to move through them quickly and get the results I want.

As much as I want to buy more lenses, I know that good software is an important part of the photographer's toolkit. So I just bite the bullet because I know that the software will make my studio portraits stand out from the "average joe's"

Below is a portrait I processed in lightroom and photoshop.

Best Regards

Img4132355cc-Edit.jpg

GabiBass