Refurb D600 with 24-85mm for under $1900!!

Sounds like a great deal but .... is the Nikkor 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED AF-S VR Lens a real good lens?
I have never used this lens before and was wondering about it. I see on Amazon it lists for right at $600.

BackdoorArts

I got one with my D600 and it lives on that camera. Is it as good as the 24-70mm f2.8? No. But I would posit that unless you're shooting wide open and comparing bokeh you'd be hard pressed to tell if a photo was taken with the kit lens or a trinitarian. Look through my photo thread or go to my Flickr account and look at the D600 and D800 photos - a huge percentage are taken with the lens. I love it and have no desire or need to go out and purchase the more expensive replacement - I'll use a prime if I want pretty bokeh (not that it's bad with the zoom).

Fred Kingston

Not that there's anything wrong with the Adorama deal... there are plenty of Refurb D600s all over... What I have seen (I hate this thread because I'm feeling compelled to jump on a D600) is that there are a few reputable (at least 1) dealer that is offering a 6 month warranty instead of the standard 90 day warranty on the refurb...

jwstl

This begs the question, what is the full Nikon warranty worth to you? 10%, 20%, 30%? This package is available new for roughly $500 more thanks to the $300 instant savings. So with this deal you give up having new gear and the Nikon warranty for a little better than 20% savings. I'm not saying it's a bad deal I'm just curious how much of a savings it needs to be to make refurbs worthwhile. I've been looking at the D600 as a companion to my D800 but I can't decide if the 20%+ savings is worth it.

BackdoorArts