Trey Ratcliff dumps his D800

Bill16

I'm not sure if I should post on this subject, since I'm just a newbie and no nearly as knowledgeable as many of my fellow members. But I am looking at this from my own point of view(newbie point of view lol), so here it goes.
This talented photographer named Ratcliff is very specialized, well off,pro photographer,and can afford to buy whatever new camera tech he likes, buying a new one if one breaks. So there is a huge set of constraints he doesn't have to consider, that most of us (in my opinion) are controlled by. duribility,the ability of bringing our old lenses to the new camera,the need to get as much run time as we can per battery,a variety of lenses to cover the needs of a various types of photos,brand name reputation we cab feel safe depending on to last,and many other considerations depending on each photographer's needs.
For me his reasoning only fits if your in close to the same position he's in. For an example. How many of us could afford to turn down a free top of the line camera we wanted bad, when there is no strings attached. Even if the sony is cheaper, he also says it's less durable,less user friendly. That alone would be a huge red flag for me.

But you much more knowledgeable members may have a different take on this subject. All I can do is give my opinion based on my needs, and what knowledge I have so far. :)

AC016

Exactly. He went to Sony for his own reasons and if he is happy with it, good for him. All you can do is give your own opinion. As the old saying goes, "different strokes for different folks". People can say all the bad things they want about the move. In the end, it is only their opinion and it is not them using the camera. I don't know much about the guy. But as you pointed out and as I have read, he does seem to be pretty well off and keen on the latest things.

WhiteLight

But he does make a valid point there where he states he has 11 million followers.