Upgrading Cameras

jesshopes

I've been shooting with a D80 for the last 4 years. It was my first DSLR. Before that I had a 1970's Canon that I used purely for hobby. I have 1-2 sessions per week and mainly do family/children/newborns. I use mostly natural light. Whenever possible I shoot outdoors although lately I have been using my sunroom as studio. I'm thinking of an upgrade but would love some feedback on which camera to upgrade to. My business has quadrupled in the last year. I don't look for this to be a full-time job but would love to have 3-4 sessions per week.I appreciate any feedback.

AC016

Any current Nikon DSLR is an upgrade from a D80, lol. Could you tell us a bit more? What exactly are you looking for in a camera? Just by what you said, I would say just continue in the same family and go get a D7000 or a D7100. Oh yeah, tell us what your budget may be as well. Thanks

jesshopes

Yes, I realize that my D80 is not a "good" camera. It's what I could afford at the time. I've learned a lot using this camera and it has served me pretty well.

I am pretty happy with how it shoots outdoors. Lately I feel like the sharpness of my images isn't what I want it to be. I don't think that the images are any less sharp than they used to be, necessarily, I am just more picky. I'm especially interested in getting something that gives me some versatility indoors with lower light. I (as a favor) shot a wedding of a friend's sister last year. Very VERY small wedding in the gathering area of a church. The images were okay but I had the ISO turned way up to compensate and there was so much noise. Took quite a lot of editing. I'd love a camera that had good reliability in such situations

I would like to stay under $2000. I'd really just like a solid upgrade. I know, though, that buying a more expensive model doesn't necessarily mean that my user-faults would be magically fixed.

Hope that helps.

AC016