Travel camera suggestions

White Canvas

Hi I'm relatively new to site, but I hoped with so many experts you might be able to give me some advice.

I travel quite a bit in the developing world with my work and would love to capture some of what I see. So I can use it for talks, etc when I come home. However I'm not keen on dragging my D5100 and lens with me and sometimes big cameras draws to much attention or take up too much space.

So I wondered if there was a quality camera you guys could recommend that has similar creative controls to a DSLR, produces sharp images, light, small and affordable. Ideally I would prefer to stay with Nikon because i am familiar with the manual controls, but would consider another brand if it better suited my needs.

If you had some suggestions or if you already owe a camera you keep for travel. I would welcome your recommendations.

MrF

I've been toying with the idea of getting one of the Fuji X series for the same reason. Something that I can throw in a coat pocket, but with some creative control to it. The X-100 gets great reviews, but it's a fixed focal length (28mm equivalent I think). The X-20 has a zoom lens, but not as large a sensor as the X-100. Now that the X-20 is out, the one I've been eying the most is the X-10. Down to $369 USD last time I looked. I'd love to hear if anyone has any experience with these or other recommendations.

AC016

Fuji also has the XM-1. But I find some of the lenses are a bit over-priced. Sony Nex series would be another choice. You can also look at Olympus and Panasonic does pretty good with their GF series.

Last edited:

Whiskeyman

My brother has a Canon G11 that is often referred to as "the brick" due to its ruggedness. He is very happy with the results he gets from it and he doesn't have to pamper it. He has indicated that it is a good travel camera.