St Johns Cathedral Brisbane

Ironwood

I was in Brisbane on wednesday to watch a football game, I had a couple of hours to spare in the afternoon.
I walked the streets for a few blocks radius from my hotel looking for photo opportunities, I found this lovely old Cathedral.

DSC_0726.jpg

DSC_0727.jpg

Ironwood

Because I was rushing to try and fit so much in with so little time, I didn't compose most of these shots as well as I could have.
I am still learning.
In hindsight I could have positioned myself a lot better in some of the shots to minimise the effects of distortion with the wider shots.
All of the outdoor shots are using the 16-85VR Nikon.

DSC_0728.jpg

DSC_0729.jpg

Ironwood

Newer buildings have been built all around the Cathedral, it was hard at times to try and isolate it from the modern buildings.

DSC_0730.jpg

Ironwood

These indoor shots were with the 35 f1.8, @ f2.8 and iso 1600. I was granted permission to take photos inside.
I didn't have a tripod with me so all shots are handheld, no flash.
There was a service being conducted in one end, and other people praying, so I tried to stay as unobtrusive as possible.
The majority of my shots of the stained glass windows are unusable so were deleted, which is a shame as they were beautiful to look at.

DSC_0741.jpg

DSC_0743.jpg

DSC_0744.jpg

DSC_0745.jpg

DSC_0746.jpg

Ironwood

Go the mighty Maroons!! Some nice shots there mate :)

Thanks Ian, the subject helps to make them nice.

One more game to win to make it 8 years in a row . If they can play like that again, we will have it in the bag.
I gotta admit, I was a bit worried after game one.

Ironwood

In the brochure I picked up at the front desk, it says the foundation stone was laid in 1901, it was built in three stages.
1906-1910, 1964-1968, 1989-2009. They say it is likely to be the last neo-Gothic building to be completed in the world.