LCD vs Monitor Color/Exposure Difference

fujitasenpai

​Hi, I'm still quite new at digital photography but now a proud owner of a Nikon D600. I was experimenting with it the other day and found a discrepancy between what I saw on the LCD and what I got after downloading the NEF to Adobe Camera Raw.

On the LCD, the exposure looks correct and the color is vibrant but as soon as I transfer the photos to my mac, everything looks really dull and most of the time, underexposed.

I've read before that any modifications to the picture control will only be shown on the LCD (a jpg?) and for RAW users this won't matter. I accepted that and that's why I totally ignore picture control and set it to standard.

I've tried changing the color space to AdobeRGB (I use this color space for my adobe workflow) and no change.

This is a little frustrating for me. Is this normal, or is there some kind of setting I'm missing?

Any input will be greatly appreciated. Cheers! :D

nikonpup

this is normal using raw files. Explaniations are on the web. If you where shooting jpeg they should be about the same. :) then the fight started jpeg or raw. Lol when you convert the files in post processing your files will be "normal"

fujitasenpai

Thanks for the input Nikonpup.

I shoot raw for the flexibility it offers.
I guess I just have to accept the fact that even if my photo looks great on the LCD, I'd still have to add about +0.60 to +1.00 exposure to it in ACR to get the right exposure.

crycocyon

Is your LCD display set to "auto"? That could be the problem. If you shoot in dimmer light the display will be brighter. But that can mislead you into thinking the image is brighter.

fotojack