Help deciding on a D600

mauckcg

I bought a D5200 at the beginning of March and it is my first dSLR. In the three months I have owned it I have absolutely loved it and am now shooting in manual more than the auto modes. Once i started shooting in manual i found having one dial on the right side to adjust settings to be rather awkward as conditions outside kept changing. I knew I was going to move up to a D7100 in a year, maybe sooner if I find a good sale around the holidays.

Imagine my surprise when I find a listing for a month old D600 with battery grip, two batteries, and 24-85 for $1999. I emailed the individual yesterday and the camera is still available. Today the listing now says $1600. I know that is a smoking buy, and I do have a 70-200 2.8. I'm not sure if spending the extra money over the top line Dx body for the D600. Is it worth the extra money?

Thanks folks!

Chris

mauckcg

How long is left on the warranty? With the Dust issue, might want to get a new one with a full year warranty.
The individual selling it bought the camera a month ago.

Whats a good surface to take a picture of to pixel peep to see if there is a dust issue?

Rick M

The individual selling it bought the camera a month ago.

Whats a good surface to take a picture of to pixel peep to see if there is a dust issue?

​Shoot the sky at f22 or something big and white. You should be able to zoom in enough in camera to see it. Expect to find it and learn to clean the sensor.

BackdoorArts

My D800 gets a lot of rest with my D600 around. It's just a phenomenal camera. I almost don't even need to think about noise before ISO 1600. Like Rick said, if you're comfortable cleaning the sensor, I would jump all over that at $1600, even if the grip and extra battery are aftermarket, which I would assume they are at that price.

BackdoorArts