New D7100 owner with multiple exposure issue. Needs advice on what is wrong.

Dziadzi19

Hi, my name is Frank. I have been a hobbyist photographer for almost 40 years. I recently sold my D90 to upgrade to the D7100. My favorite shooting subjects are my 6 grandchildren. I love taking continuous action shots of the kids in their sports endeavors. Yesterday, when I used the D7100 to shoot my youngest grandson batting at little league I came up with some very unusual shots. Instead of getting several shots of him swinging the bat @ the ball, I ended up with single shots with MULTIPLE exposures...........and I don't know why!! I never had that problem with the D90, but didn't have all the new settings the 7100 has.

multiple exposure.jpg

My settings were: Shutter priority mode, Ch, APS-C, 6-shots per actuation, auto ISO, auto WB, and a shutter speed of 1/640. If anyone can tell me what I did wrong...............or if the camera is broken...........I would appreciate it immensely. The next grandchild's soccer match is this Sunday. Thanks for looking, and drop me a line anytime.

AxeMan - Rick S.

Check this setting:

Menu button
Second icon on the far left (looks like a camera) click the ok button
Look for Multiple Exposure (should be off)

If it is on then that is why you're getting photos like this.

Dziadzi19

Hi, my name is Frank. I have been a hobbyist photographer for almost 40 years. I recently sold my D90 to upgrade to the D7100. My favorite shooting subjects are my 6 grandchildren. I love taking continuous action shots of the kids in their sports endeavors. Yesterday, when I used the D7100 to shoot my youngest grandson batting at little league I came up with some very unusual shots. Instead of getting several shots of him swinging the bat @ the ball, I ended up with single shots with MULTIPLE exposures...........and I don't know why!! I never had that problem with the D90, but didn't have all the new settings the 7100 has.

multiple exposure.jpg