Family portraits - please critique

wud

7 pictures from today, I have a few more but came to think about, I'd rather have your critique now, before finishing and mailing the pictures.

I am very new at photographing people, but got a lot of good advice in here and really tried to think when I was doing these. Several have been made B&W, as I think the colors were a bit "too much" - sunny day, very green grass and leaves with a yellowish tint. Tried fixing it, but wasn't happy with the results soooo... B&W. How in the world do you do portraits at a sunny day?!

tara_5902_web.jpg

tara-6013_web.jpg

tara-6028_web.jpg

The hand of this little guy (closest to camera) annoys me :/ Have no idea what I did, as I didn't notice before saving and closing PS. But I like the picture, for the pose.

tara-5990_web.jpg

Excuse me, but what a cutie!

tara-6146_web.jpg

4 people are hard! I got several with them all, but one tiny guy made faces lol and another tiny guy would rather go around and play.... kids are tough!
tara-6107_web.jpg

tara-6170_web.jpg

I am aware, this doesn't meet any golden lines. I tried to crop it a million times, but for some reason, this original talks to me...

tara-6177_web.jpg

fotojack

Personally, I like all the shots, but what's more important is if YOU like the shots. That's the important thing. Doesn't matter what anyone else likes. I'd be OK with sending those out to whoever you intended them for. And the B&W format.....brilliant!

wud

Personally, I like all the shots, but what's more important is if YOU like the shots. That's the important thing. Doesn't matter what anyone else likes. I'd be OK with sending those out to whoever you intended them for. And the B&W format.....brilliant!

Thank you so much! I do like them myself, but sometimes it is so hard to see a "mistake" before someone points it out to you.

AC016