lenses for d90

Joseph Bautsch

The lens will fit the D90 if it's been used on a D200. I could not find a lot review wise on the performance. What little I did find was good. The lens does not have a internal focusing motor so it will rely on the AF focusing drive in the D90 camera body. The AE should also work but you will have to set the lens f/stop on f/22 for the camera AE system to work. I have no personal experience with this particular lens. What information that has been found is from several users and reviews on the internet. Hope this helps.

Fotojo

Michael just a little info sigma uses chips that sometime limates their uses. I purchased a sigma 18mm-200mm works great on my D-90 but will not auto focus on my D-300. But I will say that I contacted Sigma and they are willing to rechip the lens for no charge if I cover the shipping. Long story short if you can try it out I would recomend it, but not the end of the world if you have problem.

Michael Wyle

Thank for your responses I only have the original lens that came with my d90 , and am new to photography so not actually sure waht lenses to get , i am currently reading understanding exposure which i find fascinating, i have also been looking at tamron lenses, which lenses do you recommend sigma , tamron , or should i stick with nikon its all very interesting .

mike

Fotojo

Hey Joseph
yes the D-90, D-300 have the in the bodies, but the chip that is in the lens has something to do with how the body recognizes the lens. The Sigma 18mm-200mm that I have works great on D-90, But will not auto focus on D-300 Sigma says the can rechip and will work on both so that was what I was trying pass on mike if it don't work Sigma will help him out

Ranie

Mike - With lenses it's a matter of getting what you are willing to pay for. Sigma and Tamron make good lenses however in my book no one beats Nikon.
+1 on this