Infrared Photgraphy Question

StandsOnToes

Hey guys new to the forum..So i'm sorry if I post this in the wrong section...

My question is about IR photography. I've been wanting to try this out for awhile now and I was even thinking of getting my old D5100 modified for IR, but I figured before I dive in with the cash for that i'd try the poor mans way of just getting a IR filter and using it with my unmodified D7100.

I've ordered a Cokin IR filter, and its on its way..

My question is regarding the WB setting for IR photography IN CAMERA.
While I'm a definite newbie to this type of photography I've been researching it a bit.

My understanding is... Once I snap a pic using the IR filter on my lens, that it will show up as a mostly black or red image in the Image review on the camera Right?

I then have to use Photoshop to change around the color channels to get a correct WB to where I can actually see the image, or at least get a pleasing 'non-red" image?

The reason I posted this in the D7100 forum is...Is there anyway to set a up a custom WB in the camera so that shots can be reviewed on that camera...lol so I can chimp my IR shots? Or does the image just show up mostly red???

Thanks for any advice!!!

Only reason i'm asking instead of just waiting till the filter arrives and playing around, is that i'm heading on vacation deep into the mountains so I won't have my computer to PS my IR shots and check the results...I hope the filter arrives before I leave... If theres no way to check the IR shots on camera I guess i'll just have to stick with my normal fair until I get the IR technique down.

Thanks again, looking forward to joining the discussion on the forum.

BackdoorArts

IR post-production involves channel swapping, so simple white balance adjusting won't get you there.