D3100 or A33 (IS on lens vs built in camera body)

ben10

Hi everyone....I'm new to this forum and I'm a beginner to DSLR.
I'm currently considering and info gathering on a entry level DSLR.

I'm stuck between D3100 and A33 (price difference of S$100):

1) is the IS better on the lenses or the camera body?
2) i love the D3100 handling but A33 seems to pack more punch for the extra S$100...especially the swipe panarama and the 7fps.
3) who has more lenses available...nikon or sony?

as DSLR is expensive n for long term....i need to get it right the first time.
all your kind advises is greatly appreciated.
:(

cal41

I can't say too much about the Sony, but in lens image stabilization is the bomb. Look through a long tele fully zoomed in and you will see the wobblyness (is that a word?) common with telescopes and binoculars. Press the shutter half way and it is like the earth stood still. The image will almost follow you as you gently move the lens.

In body IS does the same thing results wise, but you can't see it through the viewfinder IIRC.

The sweep panorama sounds interesting, but the same thing can be achieved by stitching photos together. Neither will come close to what you can do with a wide-angle lens. Sony does have a comparable lens selection to the Nikkor lenses that fit on the D3100.

The best thing would be to try each out. You might find after demoing them you like one better.

ben10

Thanks for ur reply....cal41

Having the IS in the lens generally makes buying lenses more expensive and tats the main reason I'm stuck.

I've tried out both the D3100 n A33, I prefer the grip n feel of the D3100, its simple layout and the guide mode. The viewfinder is also great.

The pros for A33 is the higher pfs, sweep panorama n the built in IS.

My heart goes with the D3100...but my head tells me to go for A33.

Is it true tat u need at least 5fps to capture jet planes and racing cars?

cal41